Little Free Libraries: A Collaboration

Return to Virtual Exhibits

Little Free Libraries (LFL) is a nonprofit organization intended to inspire a love of reading and build community by fostering neighborhood book exchanges around the world. There are several Little Free Libraries in Charlotte but not on the UNC Charlotte campus. With the expansion of the Light Rail onto campus, a LFL was proposed to connect the University with the larger Charlotte area. The proposal was headed by Shelly Hypes, Director of Access Services at Atkins Library. Funding was provided through Auxillery Services. Design solutions were provided through the School of Architecture, specifically the local chapter of Freedom by Design (FBD) under the guidence of Professor Greg Snyder.


Freedom by Design is the American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS) community service program that works in partnership with the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB). According to their mission,  students work to "radically impact the lives of people in their community through modest design and construction solutions." The program provides students with real-world, community-focused experience. It focuses on both design-build and engagement solutions to address following five barriers:

This project has been spearheaded Shelly Hypes, Director of Access Services at Atkins Library. 

Little Free Library Charette

Photos from the Charette on 9-28-2018

Nominated Designs from Charette

Designs from charette nominated for consideration

Freedom by Design Student Presentation

Videos of Meeting held on March 2019

Little Free Library/Freedom by Design Committee Documents

Selected Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Promotional Material for LFL Build Day

Social Media Posts Promoting for Build Days

Project participants (title and/or group association):

Amelia Gates, Freedom by Design

Anne Moore, Dean of J. Murrey Atkins Library

Arik Miguel, Freedom by Design

Betty Ladner, Executive Director of External Relations - J. Murrey Atkins Library

Claire LaFontaine, Freedom by Design

Eliot Ball, Freedom by Design

Greg Snyder, School of Architecture

Jake Froning, Freedom by Design

Jenna Rinalducci, Arts & Architecture Librarian - J. Murrey Atkins Library

Jonathan Joles, Freedom by Design

Jordan Murphy, Library Communications Specialist - J. Murrey Atkins Library

Katie Montie, ADA Project Coordinator

Noah Nelson, Freedom by Design

Paige Fountain, Freedom by Design

Peter Franz, Campus Landscape Architect - Facilities Planning

Peter Romano, Freedom by Design

Quinton Frederick, Freedom by Design

Rick Torres, Reprographics, Vending and ATM Program Manager - Auxiliary Services

Ryan Tillotson, Freedom by Design

Samuel Woods, Freedom by Design

Sharon Reichard, Director of Library Communications & Public Relations - J. Murrey Atkins Library

Shelly Hypes, Director of Access Services - J. Murrey Atkins Library

Steph Krull, Grounds Landscape Supervisor - Facilities Management